Free Trade Zones

Ghana Free Zones Authority’s new board of directors sworn in


Members of the Board of Directors with Judge OIivia Obeng Owusu

The reconstituted Board of Directors of the Ghana Free Zones Authority, GFZA, was sworn in on Friday, October 22, 2021 to Judge OIivia Obeng Owusu.

The ten-member council which is chaired by Alan Kwadwo Kyerematen, Minister of Commerce Industries, has been tasked with “facilitating, regulating and monitoring activities in free zones”.

In a brief address after taking the oath, Alan Kwadwo Kyerematen expressed his gratitude to the President for the trust placed in him and the members of the Board of Directors to run the affairs of the GFZA.

Alan Kyerematen urged the spirits of the board of directors to the challenge ahead which is to position Ghana as the manufacturing hub of Africa.

He noted that the role of GFZA is integral to making the government’s dream come true, hence the need for members to engage in this task.

Alan Kyerematen hinted that the board of directors comes at a time when the country is recovering from the impact of COVID-19 and that the GFZA has a key role to play if the country is to weather the economic storm created by the pandemic .

He said he had absolute faith in the expertise and commitment of the members to fulfill the mandate given to them and to help the country.

“On behalf of the ministry and the new board of directors, I would like to express our deep gratitude to the president for appointing us to the board of directors of this important organization. We believe that individually and collectively we can bring our experience and knowledge to work.

“This new board of directors comes into operation at a very important juncture in the history of the organization and indeed of our country. The government has launched a very aggressive industrialization program that aims to make Ghana the new manufacturing center of the African continent. This new industrial transformation agenda is anchored on ten pillars and three of these pillars have a direct correlation with the work of this organization.

“One of the pillars is the promotion of export development, which is the main mandate of GFZA. Now that we have launched a new national export development strategy that aims to reach over $ 25 in non-traditional value exports, this organization will lead the effort. Another very important pillar is the development of industrial parks, ”he said.

For his part, the Director General of GFZA who is also a member of the Board of Directors congratulated his colleagues and stressed the need to move forward.

The Board of Directors includes Herbert Krapa, Dr Tenkorang, Dr Alo Susana Aga, Patrick Yaw Nimo, Dr Michael ANN Oquaye, Kingsley Jojo Ofosu, Andrew Asiamah Amoako, Osei Kufuor Kankam, Rosemary Beryl Archer and Cynthia Mamle Morrison.